MST Solutions – Fresher Interview Questions – Part 2

This blog explains about MST Solutions – Fresher Interview Questions – Part 2 and is given below : 

1.  Explain about Bug life cycle .

Bug Life Cycle or Defect Life Cycle:
Bug life cycle is also known as Defect life cycle. In Software Development process, the bug has a life cycle. The bug should go through the life cycle to be closed. Bug life cycle varies depends upon the tools (QC, JIRA etc.,) used and the process followed in the organization.What is a Software Bug?

Software bug can be defined as the abnormal behavior of the software. Bug starts when the defect is found and ends when a defect is closed, after ensuring it is not reproduced.

2. Regression testing
REGRESSION TESTING is a type of software testing that intends to ensure that changes (enhancements or defect fixes) to the software have not adversely affected it.

The likelihood of any code change impacting functionalities that are not directly associated with the code is always there and it is essential that regression testing is conducted to make sure that fixing one thing has not broken another thing.

During regression testing, new test cases are not created but previously created test cases are re-executed.

Regression [noun] literally means the act of going back to a previous place or state; return or reversion.

GUI testing
GUI stands for Graphical User Interface. One can interact with a computer or any software or website on a computer through two types of interfaces. These interfaces are command line interface and graphical user interface.GUI is often designed for the naïve user who does not have the knowledge of commands but can interact through the mouse pointer and interacting with the web elements. In such scenario, the developer has to think from the perspective of the naive user and the tester makes sure that the look and feel of the screen are simple, interacting through GUI on a website is easy to understand, etc. Therefore, GUI testing involves the testing of the screens which have the controls such as menus, icons, buttons, types of bars i.e. toolbar, menu bar, dialog boxes and windows, etc.

Levels of testing
What are the levels of testing?
A level of software testing is a process where every unit or component of a software/system is tested. The main goal of system testing is to evaluate the system’s compliance with the specified needs.In SDLC models there are characterized phases such as requirement gathering, analysis, design, coding or execution, testing, and deployment.

All these phases go through the process of software testing levels. There are mainly four testing levels are:

Unit Testing
Integration Testing
System Testing
Acceptance Testing

3. Functional and non functional testing

Functional testing is a type of testing which verifies that each function of the software application operates in conformance with the requirement specification. This testing mainly involves black box testing, and it is not concerned about the source code of the application.
Non-functional testing is a type of testing to check non-functional aspects (performance, usability, reliability, etc.) of a software application. It is explicitly designed to test the readiness of a system as per nonfunctional parameters which are never addressed by functional testing.

4. Boundary value and equivalence partitioning

Boundary testing is the process of testing between extreme ends or boundaries between partitions of the input values.

So these extreme ends like Start- End, Lower- Upper, Maximum-Minimum, Just Inside-Just Outside values are called boundary values and the testing is called “boundary testing”.
The basic idea in boundary value testing is to select input variable values at their:
Just above the minimum
A nominal value
Just below the maximum
In Boundary Testing, Equivalence Class Partitioning plays a good role
Boundary Testing comes after the Equivalence Class Partitioning.

5. What is Equivalent Class Partitioning?
Equivalent Class Partitioning is a black box technique (code is not visible to tester) which can be applied to all levels of testing like unit, integration, system, etc. In this technique, you divide the set of test condition into a partition that can be considered the same.

It divides the input data of software into different equivalence data classes.
You can apply this technique, where there is a range in the input field.
REFERENCES : MST Solutions – Fresher Interview Questions – Part 1